HomeLifesaving Classes

Beginner Life Saving

BeginnerLife Saver A – C Levels

Developing skill on two alternating strokes as well as introducing new strokes. Rescue Breathing, Rescue Skills, Water based rescues are taught.

Intermediate Lifesaving

IntermediateLife Saving 1

To test the candidates understanding of the dangers of open water and ability to perform land based and wade rescues competently and safely

IntermediateLife Saver 2

To further test the candidate’s judgement and skill using land based and non-contact rescues. The candidate is also required to show the ability to care for causalities following rescues.

IntermediateLife Saver 3

To test the candidates knowledge of casualty recognition and appropriate use of rescue and life support skills contained in the lifesaving 1,2,3 syllabus.

Advanced Lifesaving

AdvancedBronze Medallion

This award is generally the first advanced level award taken by most lifesaving candidates. This award can be done together with the lifesaving 1,2,3 award as a condensed course of 7 days however the candidate MUST conform to the swimming requirements of lifesaving 1,2,3. This course is both theoretical and practical and lays the foundation for pool lifeguarding.

AdvancedAward of Merit

The award of Merit is an open water lifesaving award designed to develop skills in open water rescue techniques. It requires the candidate to hold a current bronze Medallion certification and lays the foundation for open water lifeguarding award. It covers both theory and practical. It can be completed through STAR in an accelerated fashion in 4-6 days. Because this course is conducted in a combination of closed and open water conditions some open water experience is required by the candidates before enrolment in this course.

Interested in Learning to Swim?

© 2019 Eastern Aquatic Services | Eastern School of Life Saving | S.T.A.R. Resources All Rights Reserved